Contact

You can contact Solid Data Corporation to get technical support, or for even quicker support you can select from our FAQ or knowledgebase below for answers.

What is In-File Delta? Why Would I Use It?
In-File Delta backs up large files on the schedule you set, encrypting and transmitting only the parts of the file that have changed to the Data Center. In-File Delta can be used for any kind of file, but it is especially useful for databases and other large files that are continuously updated.

How Does Online Backup Manager Know That A File Has Changed?
Online Backup Manager compares the timestamps of the files on your computer with the files stored on the server. If the timestamp has changed, OBM knows that the file itself has changed.

How Can I Change My Encryption Key?
Once the encryption key is set, it cannot be changed. If the encryption key is changed, files that are already stored in the Data Center cannot be restored. You can create a new backup set and specify a different encryption key for the new set.

I've Lost My Encryption Key. How Can I Get It Back?
You can't. Central Florida Help Desk does not have a copy of your encryption key, nor can we get one. If you have lost your encryption key, the files that used it cannot be restored. If this happens, you should create a new backup set with a new encryption key and back up all of your important files immediately.

Why Does My Backup Always Run Twice?
You have two scheduled backup sets active. To correct this, go into OBM and select your backup set. Select Backup Schedules and make sure that only the backup set or sets that you want to use are checked.

Can I Use Online Backup Manager On More Than One Computer?
Of course! Each computer you want to protect must have its own backup set. When you establish a second backup set, it will appear on all computers you want to protect. Configure each computer individually to ignore backup sets from the other computers you're backing up. Also, each backup set will occupy the same storage space in the Data Center. If you intend to back up a large number of computers, verify that you have enough storage space to accommodate them all.

What Are The Advantages And Disadvantages Of Using OBM To Back Up Multiple Computers?
Using a single account to manage multiple backups is efficient and economical. One interface and one account can be used to control all of your backups. It's also less expensive to buy more storage space for a single account than it is to pay for multiple accounts. The disadvantages are that you have to keep track of multiple backup sets and disable the irrelevant sets on each computer under the account each time you make a change. Having multiple computers under one account can sometimes make troubleshooting harder.

I'm Backing Up More Than One Computer With OBM. When I Change The Backup Set On One Computer, It Affects Both Computers. What's Happening?
The affected computers are all using the same backup set. Create a different backup set for each computer, then disable the other computers' backup sets on each computer you back up.

I Am Receiving A "Scheduled Backup Missed" Report Every Day. What Does This Mean?
If you turn your computer off before your scheduled backup runs, OBM notifies you that your scheduled backup was missed. Leave your computer on to allow OBM to complete the backup operation. OBM can shut the computer down when your backup is finished. Alternately, you can reschedule the backup to run at a time when the computer is normally on. If you choose this option, consider running OBM in the background. The backup will take longer, but you may continue to use the computer while your files are backed up.

I Have Certain Files I Do Not Want To Back Up. How Can I Tell OBM To Skip These Files?
Backup Filters can be created to include or exclude the files you designate. To access the Backup Filters, select your backup set. Select Backup Filters and configure a filter to exclude the unwanted files.

How Long Does Online Backup Manager Keep My Files In The Data Center?
With Online Backup Manager, you set the retention policy. As long as the original file is on your hard drive and as long as your OBM account is active, OBM will keep a copy in the Data Center. IF you delete the file from your hard drive, your retention policy will control how long the deleted file remains in the Data Center. The default value is 7 calendar days from the time the original file is deleted, but you can configure the retention policy to keep the file as long as you like or to discard it sooner than 7 days.

I've scheduled backups to run at a certain time, but OBM runs the backup before (or after) the time I've set. What's happening?
Most likely, OBM doesn't know what time zone you're in. To correct this, select the affected backup set and select User Profile. Make sure your time zone is set properly.

What Happens To A File In My Backup Set Once I've Deleted It From My Hard Disk?
When you delete a file from your computer, Online Backup Manager copies the backed up version to a special location called the "retention area" and removes it from the files that are backed up regularly. The file remains in the retention area according to the retention policy you've established. Once the retention guidelines have been exceeded, the file is removed from the retention area and is permanently gone. If you want to restore a file that is located in the retention area, select an older version of the file to be restored according to the date on the file. The file can then be restored from the retention area. The next time the backup is run, the newly restored file will be included in the backup set and the file in the retention area will be removed.

My Retention Area Takes Up A Lot Of Space. How Can I Reduce This?
Your retention policy governs the amount of time deleted files are preserved. To reduce the size of your retention area, reduce the number of days in you retention policy. Deleted files will be retained for a shorter period of time.

What Is Volume Shadow Copy And How Does It Work?
Windows 2003 and Windows XP support a technology called Volume Shadow Copy. This technology is not available for the Macintosh and Linux platforms, so this information applies only to users running Windows 2003 and Windows XP. VSC allows open files to be backed up. It creates a virtual copy of the file for backup purposes. Once the shadow copy of the file is created, no changes are added to it, but they are written to the actual copy of the file. Changes to the actual copy of the file will be written at the next backup.

Does Online Backup Manager have to stop the application when doing online backups?
No. Application data can still be backed up while the application is running. If you're backing up a database, like MS Exchange Server, MS SQL Server, Oracle, Lotus Notes/Domino or MySQL, a special backup agent may be used. Volume Shadow Copy can also be used to back up files that are in use on certain Windows computers.

I find the "Logout Backup Reminder" to be annoying! How can I disable this?
Open Online Backup Manager. From the left panel, select the backup set you wish to alter. From the left panel, select the "Extra Backup" node. Uncheck "Enable System Logout Backup Reminder." Repeat this step for any other backup sets that may contain this configuration.

Social Bookmarking Bookmark to: Digg Bookmark to: Del.icio.us Bookmark to: Facebook Bookmark to: Reddit Bookmark to: StumbleUpon Bookmark to: Google

Company Services

What Clients Say:

“As an accountant I have financial data from my customers stored on my computers, as well as critical and time-sensitive data as a result of doing our work. After another accountant had her home-office burned in a bushfire just before she needed to lodge returns for her clients to the Tax Office, I knew that a secure and reliable off-site backup was essential for my business. I sleep well at night knowing that all my critical data is being securely backed up by Solid Data. The daily emails reassure and guarantee my data, and that financial data from my customers that I have stored, will always be there when I need it.”

- Beverley Alley, Managing Director, Beverley Alley Accounting.